2009 Harrison $1 Coin and Medal Set

The 2009 Harrison $1 Coin and Medal Set is the first set of 2009 that contains strikes of two different programs authorized by the Presidential Coin Act of 2005.

Ending Sales Date: tbd
eBay Listings
Authorizing Coin Law
U.S. Mint Online Site

Included in the set is one uncirculated William Henry Harrison Presidential $1 Coin and one bronze medal replica of the Anna Harrison First Spouse Gold Coin. These strikes are typically released on a four per year schedule with this set marking the first for 2009, but the ninth overall.

The coins and medals included in these sets were also released separately, but only appear together in this series.

Presidential Coin & Spouse Medal Sets

The release schedule for the Presidential Coins and the First Spouse Coins and Medals are dictated by the order in which the associated President served in office. As William Henry Harrison was the ninth President, his coin marks the ninth release. Listed below are the other Presidents and spouses honored in 2007, 2008 and 2009 :

  • 2007 – George Washington and Martha Washington
  • 2007 – John Adams and Abigail Adams
  • 2007 – Thomas Jefferson and Liberty
  • 2007 – James Madison and Dolley Madison
  • 2008 – James Monroe and Elizabeth Monroe
  • 2008 – John Quincy Adams and Louisa Adams
  • 2008 – Andrew Jackson and Liberty
  • 2008 – Martin Van Buren and Liberty
  • 2009 – William Henry Harrison and Anna Harrison
  • 2009 – John Tyler and Letitia Tyler
  • 2009 – John Tyler and Julia Tyler
  • 2009 – James K. Polk and Sarah Polk
  • 2009 – Zachary Taylor and Margaret Taylor

As the above list shows, if a President served without a wife or husband an image of the mythical figure of Liberty will be used on the Spouse Coins and Medals instead. Also, if the President had more than one spouse while in office (such as the above John Tyler and Letitia and Julia), then both spouses will appear on separate coins and medals.

Issue Information

The William Henry Harrison Presidential $1 Coin and the Anna Harrison Bronze Medal are each mounted on a plastic card imprinted with colorful images of both Harrisons.

Release Date

The United States Mint released the Harrison Coin and Medal Set on April 7, 2009.

Issue Price

The US Mint released the Harrison Set for $7.95 each.

U.S. Mint Production Facility

The uncirculated Presidential Coin included in the set was minted at the US Mint’s facility in Philadelphia.

Designer & Sculptor / Engraver

Joseph Menna designed and sculpted the portrait of William Henry Harrison that is found on the obverse (heads side) of the Presidential $1 Coin. The reverse (tails side) features an image of the Statue of Liberty. It was designed and sculpted by Don Everhart.

Donna Weaver designed the portrait of Anna Harrison found on the obverse of the Spouse Medal. It was sculpted by Joseph Menna. The reverse shows Anna teaching some students. It was designed by Thomas Cleveland and sculpted by Charles Vickers.

Coin Specifications

Face Value: $1
Finish: Uncirculated
Composition: 88.5% Cu,
6% Zn,
3.5% Mn,
2% Ni
Standard Weight: 8.1 g
Standard Diameter: 1.043 in. or
26.49 mm
Edge: Lettered

Related Products