2010 Fillmore $1 Coin and Medal Set

The 2010 Fillmore $1 Coin and Medal Set includes an uncirculated Millard Fillmore Presidential $1 Coin as well as an Abigail Fillmore First Spouse Bronze Medal.

Mintage: TBD
Sold Out: TBD
eBay Listings
Authorizing Coin Law
U.S. Mint Online Site

In a way, this unique set combines two of the United States Mint’s current product offerings in one easy to obtain collectible. The uncirculated Fillmore $1 Coin is part of the Presidential $1 Coin series which debuted in 2007 and honors the former Presidents of the United States in the order upon which they served.

The bronze medal is a likeness of the Fillmore First Spouse Gold Coin which is part of a series which also debuted that same year and were authorized by the same legislation. These coins and medals honor the spouses of the former presidents.

Previous Presidential Coin & Spouse Medal Sets

The Fillmore Coin and Medal Set marks the fourteenth release of this variety from the US Mint. Previous offerings include coin and medal sets honoring:

  • 2007 – George Washington and Martha Washington
  • 2007 – John Adams and Abigail Adams
  • 2007 – Thomas Jefferson and Liberty
  • 2007 – James Madison and Dolley Madison
  • 2008 – James Monroe and Elizabeth Monroe
  • 2008 – John Quincy Adams and Louisa Adams
  • 2008 – Andrew Jackson and Liberty
  • 2008 – Martin Van Buren and Liberty
  • 2009 – William Henry Harrison and Anna Harrison
  • 2009 – John Tyler and Letitia Tyler
  • 2009 – John Tyler and Julia Tyler
  • 2009 – James K. Polk and Sarah Polk
  • 2009 – Zachary Taylor and Margaret Taylor

The act authorizing the coins made stipulations for Presidents who served with no spouses and for Presidents who had more than one spouse while in office. In the event of no spouse, an image of the mythical figure Liberty will be used on the spouse coins and medals. If more than one spouse is associated with a single president, both will be featured on separate spouse coins and medals.

Issue Information

The Fillmore $1 Coin and Medal set includes both the uncirculated coin and medal mounted in a plastic card with colorful images of each honored individuals imprinted on it.

Release Date

The United States Mint released the Fillmore Coin and Medal Set on March 26, 2010.

Issue Price

Issue price on the Fillmore Set was $11.95 – an increase of $3 over the previous year’s coin and medal sets.

U.S. Mint Production Facility

The uncirculated Presidential Coin included in the set was minted at the US Mint’s facility in Philadelphia.

Designer & Sculptor / Engraver

Don Everhart designed and engraved both the obverse portrait of Millard Fillmore found on the coin as well as its reverse image of the Statue of Liberty.

The Abigail Fillmore portrait found on the medal was designed and sculpted by Phebe Hemphill. The reverse showing Abigail shelving books in the White House Library was designed by Susan Gamble and sculpted by Joseph Menna.

Coin Specifications

Face Value: $1
Finish: Uncirculated
Composition: 88.5% Cu,
6% Zn,
3.5% Mn,
2% Ni
Standard Weight: 8.1 g
Standard Diameter: 1.043 in. or
26.49 mm
Edge: Lettered

Related Products