2010 Pierce $1 Coin and Medal Set

The 2010 Pierce $1 Coin and Medal Set is the second such set offered in 2010 from the US Mint and includes an uncirculated Franklin Pierce Presidential $1 Coin as well as a Jane Pierce First Spouse Bronze Medal.

Mintage: TBD
Sold Out: TBD
eBay Listings
Authorizing Coin Law
U.S. Mint Online Site

These set combine offerings from two different program of the US Mint – the Presidential $1 Coin series which honors former Presidents of the United States and the First Spouse Coin Series which honors the spouses of those presidents.

The Spouse Medal is a likeness of the Gold Spouse Coins produced by the Mint. Those gold coins are struck from 1/2 ounce of 24 karat gold.

Previous Presidential Coin & Spouse Medal Sets

As the fifteenth offering of this series from the US Mint, the Pierce Coin and Medal Set was preceded by:

  • 2007 – George Washington and Martha Washington
  • 2007 – John Adams and Abigail Adams
  • 2007 – Thomas Jefferson and Liberty
  • 2007 – James Madison and Dolley Madison
  • 2008 – James Monroe and Elizabeth Monroe
  • 2008 – John Quincy Adams and Louisa Adams
  • 2008 – Andrew Jackson and Liberty
  • 2008 – Martin Van Buren and Liberty
  • 2009 – William Henry Harrison and Anna Harrison
  • 2009 – John Tyler and Letitia Tyler
  • 2009 – John Tyler and Julia Tyler
  • 2009 – James K. Polk and Sarah Polk
  • 2009 – Zachary Taylor and Margaret Taylor
  • 2010 – Millard Fillmore and Abigail Fillmore

The authorizing act for both coin series dictates that in the event the president served without a spouse, an image of the mythical figure of Liberty would be used on the spouse coins and medals. If the president had two spouses while in office, both would be featured on separate coins and medals.

Issue Information

The Pierce $1 Coin and Medal set includes both the uncirculated coin and medal mounted in a plastic card with colorful images of each honored individuals imprinted on it.

Release Date

The United States Mint released the Pierce Coin and Medal Set on June 24, 2010.

Issue Price

Issue price on the Pierce Set is listed at $11.95.

U.S. Mint Production Facility

The uncirculated Presidential Coin included in the set was minted at the US Mint’s facility in Philadelphia.

Designer & Sculptor / Engraver

Susan Gamble designed the portrait of Franklin Pierce found on the obverse (heads side) of the uncirculated coin. It was sculpted by Charles Vickers. The reverse (tails side) of all of the Presidential coins was designed by Don Everhart to show an image of the Statue of Liberty.

Donna Weaver is the designer of record for both the obverse and reverse of the Jane Pierce medal. The portrait on the obverse was sculpted by Don Everhart, the reverse by Charles Vickers. On the reverse, an image of Mrs. Pierce sitting while listening to a debate is shown.

Coin Specifications

Face Value: $1
Finish: Uncirculated
Composition: 88.5% Cu,
6% Zn,
3.5% Mn,
2% Ni
Standard Weight: 8.1 g
Standard Diameter: 1.043 in. or
26.49 mm
Edge: Lettered

Related Products